Teams ready for 2015 ARWC

MEDIA RELEASE | On Saturday the 14th of November at 1pm local time, 32 teams representing 15 different countries will set off on the start of on the Adventure Racing World Championship in the wild Pantanal region of Brazil. These adventurers race non stop, day and night over a 700km course pushing themselves to the ultimate limits of human endurance. They must navigate, bike, hike and kayak through a course that is only revealed to them 24hours before the start.


This years world championship is hosted by Liga Outdoor in the Pantanal of Brazil.  It is the worlds biggest wetland and kayaking will be a major discipline.  They will also trek over rough montain ranges up to 1,000m in altitude, pack raft across flooded plains, mountain bike and abseil to complete the course.  Winners are expected to finish in approximately 5 days.

Quick summary

Event: Adventure Racing World Championships Pantanal (Brazil).

Date: 13-21 November 2015

Start Date: Saturday, 13 November 2015 1300 at a location 12 hours up the Paraguay River.

Winning time: approx. 120 hours (five days of racing to finish on Thursday morning,  19 November 2015) which includes around 5 hours of sleep.

Last teams: Saturday 21 November, Midday

Location: Pantanal, Brazil

Number of four-person teams: 32

Countries represented: Australia, France, Netherlands, South Africa, New Zealand, Japan, United Kingdom, Brazil, Columbia, USA, Switzerland, Czechoslovakia, Estonia, Sweden, Norway, Uruguay

Distance: 714 kilometres, non-stop

Sporting disciplines: pack rafting, trekking, mountain biking, river kayaking, roping, navigation

Live GPS tracking and news feeds:


Race reporting:

Twitter: #arwcpantanal

Instagram: #arwcpantanal


About AR World Championship

The AR World Championship has defined the sport of adventure racing and crowned the worlds top adventure racing teams since 2001. Each year a Qualifier event is chosen to host the championship. They accept:

– The top two placed teams at each Qualifier,

– The highest placed all national membered team from each Qualifier if they were not placed 1st or 2nd,

– The previous AR World Champions, and second placed team from previous AR World Championship,

– And allocate wild card entries.